As we are – breaking the rose coloured glasses.

“We don’t see things are they are, we see things as we are.” (author: unknown)

At my weekly WW meeting, we talked about focusing on the “why”. Why are we on this journey? What is our motivation when it gets hard?

When I started this journey just over a year ago my goal was to shop in a department store. I didn’t want to have to buy my clothes in specialty stores/ departments anymore. But that wasn’t my “why”. I wasn’t feeling comfortable in my skin and then I saw a photo of me, taken by my daughter. THAT wasn’t the image of me I had in my head. THAT wasn’t how I wanted my kids to see me. THAT wasn’t how I wanted anyone to see me. I want to look in photos as I see me in my head. I needed to see me as I was to push me.

Here we are just over a year later. I was starting to see things through my rose coloured glasses again. I kept focusing on how much I’ve lost and how I feel good in a dress. I had stopped seeing things as they are.

I’m not at my first goal (shop in ‘that’ section of the department store) and I need to set rose_colored_glassesmy mindset on losing weight. Set my mindset on being a healthier me.

It’s time to buy new clothes. It’s time to stop wearing the loose jeans. Loose jeans let me look at the path behind me. I need snug jeans to walk the path before me; to see things as they are.

“I don’t know whether you can look at your past and find, woven like the hidden symbols on a treasure map, the path that will point to your final destination.”
Jodi Picoult, Handle with Care

What are your thoughts?

